Magazines, Newspapers, Encyclopedias, and Other Online Databases

Content Body

All databases can be accessed from home and the library.

ADULT LEARNING CENTER

Adult Learning Center

Adult Learning Center Whether you are going back to school, switching jobs, or just want to brush up on an academic skill, our adult learning center is here to help. Pass the GED, prepare for the US Citizenship test, write a winning resume, and get Microsoft Office help. Login with your Altadena Library card number.

BIOGRAPHY

Biography

BIOGRAPHY IN CONTEXT Contains biographies of over 200,000 historical and contemporary figures. Searchable by nationality, ethnicity, occupation, and gender. Login with your Altadena Library card number.



CAREER & EDUCATION INFORMATION

career transitions

Career Transitions Build, save and update resumes and cover letters with a career toolkit. Explore current skills, occupational knowledge and interests and match them with career paths. Investigate industries, locations and companies. Find educational opportunities and take classes. Search job listings from around the country. Login with your Altadena Library card number. Internet Explorer users must use version 7.0 or greater.

career cruising

Career Cruising is an industry-leading online career guidance and planning system. People of all ages use our tools to find the right career, explore education and training options, and build their own portfolio. Login with your Altadena Library card number.

Tuition Funding Sources

Tuition Funding Sources is a private website that contains the world's largest scholarship database. The TFS website also provides students with career and college admissions information. In order to register as a new member click on the "login" button, then select your state, input your email address and create a personal password. You only need to register the first time you use the service. The TFS website does NOT collect student's names and other personal and private information for resale to third parties.

CHILDREN'S

Social Studies Fact Cards

SOCIAL STUDIES FACT CARDS A series of quick reference resources for students in grades 4 through 8. Topics covered include California Indians, Missions, Explorers and Governors. National and international topics are also covered. Login with your Altadena Library card number.

book flix

Scholastic BookFlix is an online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to build a love of reading and learning. The engaging way to link fact and fiction, BookFlix reinforces early reading skills and introduces children to a world of knowledge and exploration. If you’re inside our libraries, click here. If you’re outside our libraries, click here to login with your Altadena Library card number.

Kids Info Bits

Kids InfoBits Developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5, the curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Login with your Altadena Library card number.

Tumble

TUMBLEBOOKS An online collection of existing picture books with animation, sound, music and narration which you can read or have read to you. No Login required.

novelist k-8

NOVELIST K-8 Search for fiction titles that are popular with young readers. Login with your Altadena Library card number.

infotrac junior

InfoTrac Junior Edition Now with over 330 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Login with your Altadena Library card number.

ENCYCLOPEDIA

WorldBook Kids

World Book for Kids For elementary through middle school students, English language learners, and reluctant readers. World Book's Student Discovery Encyclopedia offers simple navigation, easy to read content, bright colors, and a graphical design. Login with your Altadena Library card number.

Info Finder

World Book Online Info Finder Designed for public library patrons grade 5 through 9. Search encyclopedia articles, multimedia collections, maps, primary source documents, e-books and more. Also includes research tools and science projects. Login with your Altadena Library card number.

World Book Spanish

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos en Linea

Contiene cada artículo desde la colección imprimida de 22 volúmenes hasta miles más. Ofrecimientos multimedios incluyen audio, video, cuadros y mapas. Conéctese con el número de su tarjeta de biblioteca de Altadena.

worldbookonline

World Book Contains every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more. Multimedia features include audio, video, pictures, and maps. Login with your Altadena Library card number.

FOREIGN LANGUAGE

powerspeak

Power Speak Languages Whether you want to learn a language for personal enrichment, for business or to get ready to travel abroad, Power Speak Languages is a breakthrough in learning foreign languages. Power Speak simulates gradual immersion into a new language through a series of stories, activities and innovative learning tools. Power Speak guides users toward proficiency — not just words and phrases but listening, speaking, reading, grammar and pronunciation skills. Login with your Altadena Library card number.

GENERAL REFERENCE

opposing viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints provides instant access to some of the best sources and information available on today’s conversation-sparking and sometimes controversial topics. The arguments of each topic’s proponents and detractors are featured. Login with your Altadena Library card number.

Calisphere

Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California.

HEALTH

health and wellness

Health and Wellness Resource Center Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos, and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only. Login with your Altadena Library card number.

HOMEWORK HELP

brainfuse logo

Brainfuse One-to-one homework help from live, online tutors. State-aligned skills building lessons help students master key academic skills through engaging one-to-one sessions. Writing Lab specialists help students produce better letters, term papers, and reports. Tutoring for Spanish speakers. All core subjects offered (grades 3-12): Math -- including Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, Trigonometry, and Calculus. Science -- including Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and Earth Science. Social Studies. English/Language Arts. Writing assistance. Reading assistance. Login at the library or from home with your Altadena Library card number.

LEGAL RESOURCES

Nolo

Free Nolo Press Books Selected current editions of Nolo Press books online in their entirety, for free. Titles include Renter's Rights, Your Rights in the Workplace, Beat Your Ticket, Save Your Small Business, and many more.

LITERATURE SOURCES

literature resource center

Literature Resource Center Full text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Login with your Altadena Library card number.

novelist

Novelist Search for favorite authors, themes, subjects, and award winners. A great way for readers of all ages to find a good novel to read. Login with your Altadena Library card number.

NEWSPAPER AND MAGAZINE ARTICLES

Infotrac

INFOTRAC General Reference Center Gold is a periodical index which includes citations, abstracts, and full text articles from magazines, journals, reference books, and national newspapers. Login with your Altadena Library card number.